Then and now

The company founded 1949 in Oelde, Westphalia by Paul Hammelmann took the decision to start manufacturing high pressure pumps and systems during 1955 laying the foundations of the current business. Hammelmann was a pioneer in the industry that was then known as Hydrodynamics and was responsible for many important breakthroughs. .

Up to now over 300 patents have been granted both at home and abroad which are a sign of the continuous, innovative development that has been part of our policy for decades

 
 
 

In endeavouring to solve individual problems and come up with reliable solutions the company has grown from modest beginnings into an internationally recognised manufacturer of high pressure technology products. The works in Oelde cover an area of 30,000 square metres.

Then and now
Then and now
 

The DP 60 was the first pump produced in Oelde. It had an operating pressure of 60 bar and a flow rate of 60 l/min and was used in a cleaning system in the paper industry. Today we can achieve operating pressures up to 4,000 bar and flow rates up to 1680 l/min.

Then and now
Then and now
 

Years and years ago the point of fitting a cover over a high pressure unit was just that. Today the covers have more to do with sound and exhaust emission control. Hammelmann also supplies individual elements such as dust particle filters and microprocessor control units.

Then and now
Then and now
 

During the mid sixties operating pressures were up to around 500 bar. In 1974 Hammelmann revolutionised high pressure technology with the introduction of the friction free plunger seal assembly. This metal to metal seal enabled plunger pumps to reach operating pressures up to 2,000 bar and have a reasonably long component working life.

Then and now
Then and now
 

In 1969 Hammelmann started marketing the Dockmaster as the first semiautomatic ship washing machine. Today’s version of the unit is environmentally friendly with direct vacuuming of waste and waste water which is used to strip paint from hulls rather than clean them. It has also been used for selective removal of concrete.

Then and now
Then and now
 

The Ergoblast gun is a good example of how innovation can lighten the workload. Working with conventional blasting guns can be very tiring. The operator must contend with the reaction force of the water and keep a constant grip on the trigger. The Ergoblast has no trigger. It is activated by placing a transponder fitted to a glove along the barrel of the gun which contains a transmitter.

Then and now
Then and now
 

Water tools are used more and more today in automatic cleaning processes. Cleaning castings is a good example. Previously they could only be cleaned manually whereas today a robot does the work with the help of high pressure technology made by Hammelmann.

Then and now
Then and now

FRüher und heute

1949 von Paul Hammelmann in Oelde, Westfalen, gegründet, legte die Entscheidung im Jahr 1955, Hochdruckpumpen und Reinigungssysteme zu bauen, das Fundament für das heutige Unternehmen. Hammelmann wurde auf dem Gebiet der Hydrodynamik zum Wegbereiter vieler bahnbrechender Erfindungen.

Mittlerweile wurden über 300 in- und ausländischer Patente angemeldet, ein Beleg für die kontinuierliche und innovative Unternehmens-politik über viele Jahrzehnte hinweg.

 
 
 

Im stetigen Bemühen, mit den Anwendern individuelle Problemlösungen zu finden und Bewährtes zu verbessern, wurde das Unternehmen aus bescheidenen Anfängen heraus zu einem international anerkannten Hersteller von Hochdrucktechnik. Das Werk in Oelde produziert auf einer Fläche von 30000 qm.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Die DP 60 war der erste Pumpentyp, der in Oelde gefertigt wurde. Mit einem Betriebsdruck von 60 bar bei 60 l/min wurde die Pumpe für Reinigungszwecke in der Papierindustrie eingesetzt. Im Vergleich dazu erzeugen heute Hammelmann Hoch- druckpumpen Betriebsdrücke bis 4000 bar und Förder- mengen bis 1680 l/min.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Dienten vor Jahrzehnten Gerätehauben dazu, das Hochdruck-Aggregat lediglich abzudecken, stehen heutzutage der Schall- und Emissionsschutz im Vordergrund. Hammelmann liefert hierzu individuelle Komponenten wie z.B. Rußpartikelfilter sowie elektronische Kontroll- und Steuermöglichkeiten.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Wurden Mitte der 60er Jahre Betriebsdrücke bis zu 500 bar erzielt, revolutionierte Hammelmann mit der Einführung der "berührungslosen Plungerabdichtung" im Jahr 1974 die Technik der Hochdruckpumpen. Mit Hilfe eines metallischen Abdichtungsystems konnten erstmals Drücke von 2000 bar mit hohen Standzeiten erzielt werden.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Bereits 1969 brachte Hammelmann mit dem Dockmaster ein halbauto-matisches Gerät zum Reinigen von Schiffen auf den Markt. Heute arbeitet das System umweltfreundlich mit Direktabsaugung und wird nicht nur in der Werftindustrie, sondern auch zum selektiven Abtragen von Betonflächen im Straßenbau eingesetzt.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Die Ergoblast Spritzpistole ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie Innovationen mehr und mehr die Arbeit erleichtern. Gilt die Arbeit mit herkömmlichen Pistolen auf Grund der Haltekräfte am Abzugshebel als beschwerlich, arbeitet die Ergoblast ohne Handhebel. Möglich wird dies durch einen am Arbeitshandschuh fixierten Transponder und einer im Pistolenrohr eingearbeiteten Antenne.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute
 

Wasserwerkzeuge werden heute immer mehr in automatisierten Reinigungsprozessen integriert. Das Bearbeiten von Gussteilen ist eines von vielen Beispielen hierfür. Was früher nicht oder nur mühevoll in Handarbeit möglich war, übernehmen jetzt Roboter in Kombination mit Hochdrucktechnik made by Hammelmann.

Früher und Heute
Früher und Heute